Overview of WACE Requirements

Achievement of a WACE signifies that a student has successfully met the breadth and depth, the achievement standard and Literacy and Numeracy requirements in their senior secondary schooling. In order to meet the WACE requirements students must ensure the following requirements are met by the conclusion of Year 12.

General          requirements

Demonstrate a minimum standard of literacy and a minimum standard of numeracy based on the skills regarded as essential for individuals to meet the demands of everyday life and work in a knowledge‐based economy.

Complete a minimum of 20 units or equivalents as described below.


  • at least four Year 12 ATAR courses, or
  • at least five Year 12 General courses (or a combination of General and up to three Year 12 ATAR courses) or equivalent, or
  • a Certificate II (or higher) VET qualification in combination with ATAR, General or Foundation courses.

Breadth and depth

Students will complete a minimum of 20 course units or the equivalent. This requirement must include at least:

  • a minimum of 10 Year 12 units or the equivalent
  • two completed Year 11 English units and one pair of completed Year 12 English units
  • one pair of Year 12 course units from each of List A (arts/English/languages/social sciences) and List B (mathematics/ science/technology)

Achievement Standard

Students will be required to achieve 14 grades (or equivalents) in Year 11 and Year 12, including at least six C grades in Year 12 units(or equivalents)

Unit equivalents can be obtained through VET and Endorsed programs

Literacy and Numeracy competence

Demonstrate a minimum standard of literacy and numeracy.


Section 1.3 of the 2020 WACE Manual provides a detailed explanation of these requirements; available at http://www.scsa.wa.edu.au/publications/wace-manual

Depth & Breadth Lists

Students must complete at least one pair of course units from each of List A and List B.  (Please note this is the full list and Prendiville does not offer every subject on the list.)

WACE List A and List B subjects for breadth of study: 

List A - Arts/Languages/Social Sciences

List B - Mathematics/Science/Technology

Children, Family & the Community

Accounting and Finance






Computer Science


Design - Graphics


Design - Photography

Italian: Second Language

Design - Technical Graphics


Food Science and Technology

Media Production & Analysis

Human Biology

Modern History

Integrated Science


Marine and Maritime Studies

Religion and Life

Materials Design & Tech - Wood

Visual Arts

Mathematics Applications


Mathematics Essential


Mathematics Methods


Mathematics Specialist


Physical Education Studies





These subjects must be taught and assessed in the school to count as List A or List B.



Submit your details today